top of page

No one at the Gates


Interesting fact of the day: you can skydive in a column of air, if the flow is a consistent 95 miles an hour. My fantastic wife took treated me to an iFly experience. Some great inspiration for ideas there, vampires dropping on people's heads, falling out of planes, traversing volcanic columns of air being chased by bond villains. I'd highly recommend it.

Anyway, what have I been doing, and where are all the stories. Sorry to say that I've been busy of late, nothing much progressed this year, though I have a number of things on the go.

Needless to say, here's the current state of play: Wendigo, 2/3rds done about 20K words -- will resume after I've knocked off a few interim stories. It just needs the final part tightening up, and going over a couple of times (then the changes that the editor suggested implemented. Thanks Jack!)

I'm currently working on these:

Golden hour noun: the first hour after a serious accident, when it is crucial that the victim receivers medical treatment in order to have a chance of surviving.

In an abduction, it is the first hours after a person has been taken in which they will most likely be found, alive.

Every second counts.

Every. Single. Second.

It’s the most action packed Joe Mancer story yet, drafted, and I'll include a part in next Sunday's post.

No one at the Gate

Take an old idea, a conspiracy where families within a town have to sacrifice one of children when they come of age. Make it a tradition, or ritual where they disguise what’s going on by sending them to a holiday or festival camp. During that time, one of them vanishes. No adult talks about it, it’s just accepted. A norm, when the parents collect them at the gate, there will always be one family, waiting for their child to return.

This idea, unravelling, an outsider who infiltrates the compound and whatever they do, whatever happens, results in ‘No one at the Gate.’

This is at concept stage. I'll draft this out once I've managed to make good progress on the rest.

What am I listening to?

Mostly this, it's awesome.

I'll be back later in the week to give an update on Joe's Progress. Time is ticking...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page